Sparklecakes

Went to a party on a Saturday night….

In Uncategorized on March 19, 2009 at 10:36 pm

Ultimate Blog Party

Ok…it’s techincally ridiculously late on a Thursday night or early Friday morning, however you wish to look at it, but “it ain’t no big thang.”  (Tell me you put the title of the post and that last quoted snippet together.  Lita Ford?  Kiss Me Deadly?  Ugh.)

5 Minutes for Mom is having their annual Ultimate Blog Party and all of us sassy bloggers are invited!  All you have to do is put your blog up on the Mr. Linky widget and get ready to mingle with bloggers you’ve never met before.  Hit as many blogs as you can from the main page and make some new bloggy friends!  Go comment crazy!  Find new reads for your RSS feed!  This is the time to notice and get noticed. What’s more? There are some SWEET giveaways. Kitchen Aid mixers, jewelry, the whole nine yards. I would love any of the giveaways, especially if it’s for mamas, or boys in the age range of 12 months to 4 years.  It’s my first UBP and I want to meet as many of you as possible.  My goal is to comment 3/4 of the party goers without making my children computer orphans.  Possible?  We’ll see.

For those of you visiting, a big hello and welcome!

I’m Sarah, aka Queen Mommy.  I’m a mama to 3 boys (D, 4 yrs. and 9 mo. old twins C and DM), wife to the love of my life for just about 7 years, and a SAHM who failed miserably in domestic goddess training.  I write about the everyday laughs that happen raising while raising 3 boys and try to throw in helpful tips and tricks on everything from parenting to bat patrol.  I attempt to avoid politics (but sometimes I just can’t help it), I’m in love with all things medical (I’m in my last year of nursing school), and if you’re a smart mouth sass queen, chances are good that I want to be your friend.

25 Random Things About Me

  1. For some reason, in high school I only dated percussionists in the marching band.
  2. I was a band geek.
  3. And no, I never went to band camp.
  4. I have a dirty habit of watching the Fox Reality Channel when I’m home alone.  Lord help me, I love me some Temptation Island.
  5. If you pulled up next to me in my car, you’d think I was having a seizure and screaming.  In reality, I’m having my own private concert.
  6. When I need a pick me up, I put in Franz Ferdinand’s “Take Me Out,” put on my 4 inch heels, and “walk the runway.”  You laugh, but try it. 
  7. My parents buy me monkey crap.  Tons of monkey crap.  I was known as the “Monkey Lady” in my old ‘hood.
  8. I knew I wanted to marry my husband when he came to pick me up for our first date. 
  9. We had so much fun our first date that we literally sat by the vet’s memorial in Indy, in the pouring rain, talking about everything under the sun for hours.
  10. We never took a honeymoon, we got married in a courthouse, but I can’t imagine life without being as happy as I am when I wake up next to him every morning.
  11. If I could be anywhere right now, I’d be on the beach in Wilmington, NC.
  12. I used to drive 12 hours straight after leaving work to see my hubby at Ft. Bragg while we were dating. 
  13. If it is warm outside and it starts raining, chances are I’m playing in it.
  14. I am the biggest know-it-all you’ll ever meet.
  15. I come by my faults honestly.
  16. When I was little, I wanted to be the president, then a veterinarian, and then the president’s veterinarian. 
  17. Now I’m a stay at home mom. 
  18. I wish I could tell my high school pre-calculus and physics teachers how uncanny it is that I didn’t need to know all of their voo-doo bull crap in real life.
  19. Cupcakes are one of life’s simple pleasures. 
  20. I watch the Food Network. I’m an out of control foodie.
  21. Speaking of out of control, I have OCD.
  22. I’m going to be a gardening goddess this summer.
  23. I love Alaska and would love to live there again.
  24. I treat mail in my mailbox like it’s Christmas.  I LOVE mail.
  25. I love coffee.

Pull up a chair, grab a slice of pumpkin bread (seriously, the best recipe ever) and grab a cup from my loverA few Several of my favorite posts that I might direct you to:

Is there anything it can’t do?

Oh!  So that’s what they’re for!

Bat girl

These posts are fresh, funny, and are so adorable that they’re currently replacing teddy bears.  Ok, I don’t know about adorable.  I’m going to try some new stuff this week (a vlog for instance) so stick around, stick arounders.

Leave me some love and I’ll be sure to hit ya back.  Can’t wait to party with all of you!  This concludes the ice breaker portion of our party; on to the dance off!

  1. Oh. My. GOD. I just read the “That’s what they’re for” post. I had a similar encounter with a woman who overheard that I’d never tried to breast feed my 2nd son. I blew her hair back so hard her great-grandchildren won’t be able to see a stylist! IF you’ve got some time, read it here: http://mamaneedsacosmo.com/?p=286

    Have fun blog hopping. It was a pleasure to meet you! 🙂

  2. It’s my first blog party! Your Bat Girl post was hilarious!

  3. Hello from Momedy! I am loving your pretty blog 🙂 First, may I offer my sincerest condolences on your *shudder* Bat Incident *shudder.
    I.Would.Die.

    Nine month old twins-the cuteness must be painful!!!

    I hope you will stop by my blog, I am having a pretty fab giveaway if I do say so 😉

  4. Hi! Thanks for stopping by my site. The Ultimate Blog party has been a lot of fun so far…
    I loved your post “Oh so that’s what they’re for!”…hilarious. We have all found ourselves in situations where we wish we hadn’t let our emotions take over…but usually later we are very glad we did. 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

  5. Thanks for the fun intro! It is great to get to “know” some more fab mom bloggers through this party!

  6. I love your blog – you are totally hilarious! I have two boys and I loved your “is there anything they can’t do” post – too funny!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  7. You are a hoot! hahahah we would get along just fine!

  8. What a great post! lol I am from the UBP too! Drop in for something good to eat, bring it with ya. lol

  9. Do you really do the gnome thing? I love it!

  10. Hi Sarah! This party is so much fun! And funny! I get a chuckle reading all the blog sites. Party On!

  11. Loved your 25 random things…funny. I laughed out loud at #4. Crack up. I recognized your blog name because Hannah (Sherbert Blossom) is working on my blog design too. I used yours as an example that I liked. Hopefully mine will be up soon!

    Happy partying!

  12. Neat site…I’m looking forward to checking in with your blog every so often. Great giveaways too.

    Feel free to check out my blog party at My Business Adventures. I’m hosting a few giveaways this week too!

    Cheers,

    LeNesha

  13. I love that you wanted to be the President’s vetrinarian!! I am subscribing and I faved you on Technorati. Check out my Flowers for Queen Mommy post. 😉

    I am stopping by from The Ultimate Blog Party to check your blog out. What a great week we are in for!

    Check out my place for your chance to win a LeapFrog Tag Reading System. 🙂

    Stacie
    The Divine Miss Mommy
    http://www.thedivinemissmommy.com
    http://www.twitter.com/stacieinatlanta

  14. I love your LIST !!
    Have a Happy 2nd Party Day !!

  15. Hello! I’m here for the party, you sound like my kinda gal! I have (almost) 3 year old twins. Aren’t they fun?! I was also a percussion dating band geek. See, we could totally be friends. I’ll be back to read again! Have a great party. 🙂 🙂

  16. You have such a cute blog…love it!! My twins just turned four and let me tell you, they get so much easier and fun!!

  17. Happy UBP! 🙂
    Hope you have a fabulous day!

    Valerieeeeeeeeeee
    http://sweeps4bloggers.blogspot.com/

  18. Hi Sarah, just stopping by for a HEY from the UPB. 🙂

  19. Just going from party to party to see how others are doing this blogging thing.

    I love getting mail too it is almost like Christmas Morning. I also love sending mail just thinking about how much people are going to love getting it.
    Also cupcakes are great! especially the funfetti ones

    My prize is #115 check it out!
    Have a good weekend blog partyn’!

  20. So glad I found your blog – bookmarking for sure. You are quite hilarious. I can only dream of being a sass queen! And I too have OCD, but only when it comes to stringing lights on the Christmas tree, that is why we now have a prelit tree!

  21. Hi there! Nice to meet you. I’m here from the UBP and I look forward to getting to know you more this week.

    Nell

  22. Hi nice to meet you! Hope you are having fun at the party. I would also like to invite you to link to Show off your Blog Saturday! I would love to read your favorite post!

  23. Loved your blog. This is my first blog party. I am loving all the new friends. I want to come back to your blog and spend some extra time.

    Stop by and see me.

    Teresa

  24. Hello! Poppin’ in from The Ultimate Blog Party…all the way from Queensland, Australia! G’Day! I hope you have time to visit my party soon.

    Ta!

    I want to invite you to the Mommie Daze Virtual Baby Shower that I am hosting May 15 to June 8. This is an international even and there are prizes! Stop by my blog for all the details.

  25. Nice to meet you!

    Talk about a party!

    I’m quite intrigued and am learning how to get around!

    Just stopping by from 5minutes for moms blog party!

  26. nice to meet you love your blog I will be back when i am done partying Happy UBP 2009!!!!

  27. Hi, I have been to your blog before and I will be back again. It is AWESOME. I am a new blogger and this is my first party. I have now visited 173 of the blogs on the list and left a message at each. I am trying to make my messages personal, but honestly after a while. You just want to type HI….
    I used to live in Alaska also, I was a kid but loved it. I would love to go back sometime. I now reside in OHIO.. and love it here. It took me a while to decide this was the place for me, but I think I am staying now.
    Thanks for letting me stop by for a bit. Have fun!! I am..

  28. AHHHH! Starsky and Hutch is one of my favorite movies!!!

    Too funny

    I also love mail !!!!!!!!! Especially GOOD MAIL

  29. stopped by from UBP but will definately be back, love your blog!!

  30. I stopped by for the Ultimate Blog Party! I enjoyed visiting your blog and it was nice “meeting” you 🙂

  31. I just stopped by, blog hopping as part of UBP 2009. It is very nice to meet you. I have a blog at http://www.superfunmama.blogspot.com; It’s a toddler learning blog. I’d love to have you for a visit! I am loving UBP! Have a magical day. I have a goal of trying to visit 150 blogs per day, whew! Let’s hope the little one takes long naps for the next few days.

  32. Your blog is super fun! I look forward to reading more! Happy UBP 2009!!!

  33. Ahhh, DARLIN’ BLOG HEADER! Your spot has a great feel to it and I can tell in ONE POST you do NOT suffer from introversion. Love that!

    Thanks for your early visit to my blog :). Have you considered writing with the Compassion Bloggers? That could help you when it comes to trip time maybe :).

  34. Stopping by from the UBP! Love the blog and I am officially subscribing! My sister is a lactation consultant and I was told to breast feed as well, and absolutely fell in love with it! I always love to hear breast feeding stories… my response would have been “You’d rather me feed my child garbage(a.k.a. formula) than something that God made especially for them?”

  35. Hello there. Knocking on your door from the blog party. Hope you don’t mind.

    Mike
    http://somethingaboutparenting.typepad.com

    Twitter: About Parenting

  36. Hi, I’m stopping over as part of my party blog hopping. It is very nice to meet you and your blog. I have a toddler learning/fun activity site at http://www.superfunmama.blogspot.com; I’d love to have you come visit sometime. Have a magical day!

  37. What a fun party post! 🙂 I also love pumpkin bread and coffee – together, if possible! You know what else is good? A nice wedge of pumpkin bread served with pumpkin soup. MMMM!!

  38. Nice to meet you. I love your blog design, it is really cute! I would not want to live in Alaska though, way too cold!
    Toni

  39. You are too funny!! I love the random things about you… great idea for a getting to know more about the woman behind the queen!

  40. Party hopping from UBP! You are hilarious – I also have 3 boys.

  41. Ha, ha, ha, ho, ho, ho, hee, hee, hee……
    I’m still laughing at your “Oh, so that’s what they’re for” post.
    Geez, the nerve of some people!
    I’ve had stares, but thankfully no one has ever been rude to me.

    Can’t wait to look around some more 🙂
    Hope you have a great day!

  42. HI! Thank you for stopping by my blog for the UBP… I’m a little late in visiting back, but I hope it’s not too late.

    I love your blog… Thanks for what you do to inspire us!

    Amy Ellen at HealthBeginsWithMom.com

  43. “So that’s what they’re for”
    The things you only learn *after* having kids… Of course, I’d already decided that breastfeeding me is never going out in public again anyway…

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

  44. Popping over from UBP – Lovin’ the various blogs I’ve been reading. Great to hear that I’m not the only one that seems to be failing in the Domestic Goddess department – Martha I’m not.

  45. Happy UBP 09! I am a bit late but I a came anyways!
    Take care

  46. Happy Blog Partying! I, also, failed at domestic goddess training. I will definitely come back to read more.

  47. I am enjoying all these blogs. Yours is one of the best especially your graphics.

  48. Happy blog party! I enjoy very much these blogs especially yours!

  49. your blog is very helpful. I am really having fun looking at all these blogs

  50. Just had a chance to come visit from the UBP … had fun reading your 25 list!

  51. Hello – here on the party route – still trying to meet up with all the blogs – have been to 250+ so far – last day! Lovely to meet your blog!!

  52. Stopping by to say HI from the UBP! Love your list of 25. We have so much in common….at least from your list!

  53. LOL, I love the title “Queen Mommy!” I just may have to claim that title for my own, in my house :-p

    I’ll definitely have to check out your blog more later… (I’m just bookmarking everyone right now, while I blog-hop my way through the party :-p)

    Feel free to check out my blog, too! While I found the party too late to be part of the official prize giveaways, I do have a door prize at my blog: I’m giving away a free print copy of my book, “Two Snowflakes.” Here’s my address: http://twinhappyjen.blogspot.com/

    It was nice to meet you!

  54. Nice party, and nice to meet you!

  55. Hi Sarah! I hope you don’t mind a late guest at the party. I know how rude that is! But, I’m still just blog hopping through the Ultimate Blog Party link list. I didn’t want to miss out on any blogs… but I just ran out of party time. So… I’m still working my way down the list… even though the party is technically over.
    Stop in on my blog if you’ve got a minute! Or… if you’re still up for a party post… you could stop by my party anytime!

  56. Congratulations! You are a prize winner. Stay tuned…

    Contact me and reference #50

  57. […] Winner #50 Queen Mommy […]

  58. […] Rich (The Imagination Movers): If you read my UBP post, you know I have some weird drummer fetish. This guy fits the bill. Percussiony hotness with a […]

Leave a Reply

