Sparklecakes

I don't like Oprah

In Uncategorized on July 4, 2009 at 8:24 am

I rarely watch Oprah. 

I think she’s a little dangerous.  I think she likes to shoot her mouth off without really knowing what she’s talking about.  Case in point:  hypothyroidism.  I’ve got it.  I’m being treated for it.  I know sometimes parts of your body give out on you for unexplained reasons.  So please, Oprah, don’t tell me and the rest of the women watching you, searching for answers, that your thyroid gets “blown out” when you, “swallow the things you need to say.” 

Seriously?! 

Is that not the most searching-for-fairies-in-the-forest crackpot thing you’ve ever heard?!  Jiminy.

If you’re a powerful voice in the world, doesn’t that come with a sort of responsibility?  Shouldn’t you want to put out facts and medically viable information if you’re going to choose to talk about health issues?  Should she advocate a supposed fountain of youth that includes shooting up your va-jay-jay with estrogen and gulping down 60-some pills each morning just because Suzanne Sommers says it works for her?  Yes, everyone has a choice, but you can tell by looking at the women that sit in her audience that they hang on every word that comes out of her mouth.  I bet you a good portion went to their doctors the following week demanding vaginal shots and wanting to talk about how they’ve been swallowing so much and they really have some stuff they want to get off their chests. 

BARF.

What do you think?  Do you think Oprah takes it to far?  Do you think she’s simply introducing new ideas?  Do you think she’s quack-tastic?

  1. Was she SERIOUS????? I am not a fan of Oprah lately either. Really, was she serious? Did she mean in kind of an existential, body-mind, spiritual way or LITERALLY?

  2. http://sweettartsauntzeezie.blogspot.com/

    http://wannawinforweesie.blogspot.com/

    I love your blog and would love it if you would take a peek at my blogs. I am a new blogger and would LOVE some FOLLOWERS to keep me going or tell me to stop blogging because its not for me! Please? Thanks! Carolyn

  3. ha, yeah, it’s like when she talks about mothers how how much she understands them and knows how hard it is….. how do you know? You’re not a mother!! 🙂

  4. I’ve only watched her show once to see a professor of mine on it. He said it was terrible because she had no idea what he did they had him write a list of questions and cribbing his work for his interview. RIdiculous!

  5. I don’t mind her too much. But there are definately times where she makes herself out to be an expert at something when she’s clearly not.

    My best example would be child rearing! You don’t have any kids Oprah! And caring for someone elses kid for a couple of hours doesn’t make you a guru!

  6. […] Jump to Comments I said a few days ago that I don’t like to watch Oprah. […]

Leave a Reply

